January 10, 2006

  • "If We Ever Break through the Stars" by James Durante



    If we ever break through the stars it’ll be beautiful.


    If we ever break through this universe it’ll be beautiful


     


    I never questioned that the absence of loved figure would leave any one disturbed


    But in the absence of a presence in your eyes I confirmed


    Back in the day when loving was still pretty


    When the sky didn’t hold light, it was in this city


    Grit my teeth because smiling was never my duty


    It was an obligation.


    But what I learned is that 1 – 1 is better then 1 1


    When you can’t even figure out the equation


     


    But I never questioned that it comes


     


    Your expectations are way too high


    That’s why


    If you fall


    You expect me to catch you


    But I’m this high.


    Neck up and chin up in my own clouds.


     


    These quiet winds blow your name


    And


    Every time I hear redundant repetition,


    Realize my lover’s revolution, and relate to sinners retribution


    I


    Pause.


     


    If we ever break through the stars it’ll be beautiful, I don’t question beauty


    It we ever break through this universe it’ll be beautiful, appreciating it is not my duty


     


    I hope you weep when you look in the mirror


    And see your broken image,


    I hope you break your halo in two


    And in those < parentheses 3 you show your wicked gimmicks


     


    It’s not that I hate you.........its not that I hate you


    It’s that I can’t learn to love you.........I can’t learn to love you


    Because if I loved you.........oh I can love you


    What would hate do?.........What would my hate do?


     


    We’re all just blades of grass in this field of life


    Catching a tear of a dew every now and then


    We weep for a lost one, break for a loved one.


    But in another time we get one again.


     


    If we ever break through the stars it’ll be beautiful, I don’t question beauty


    It we ever break through this universe it’ll be beautiful, appreciating it is not my duty


     


    But my oh my, why must I


    But MY OH MY, WHY MUST I?


     


    Why must I dwell in these caves?


     Hide in that space


    Always think of your face


    And step through my own disgrace


     


    Together alone we shall mourn,
    for our once happy story is no more
    Essence keeps a firm grip,
    Memories will suffocate my dreams
    she’ll be so sadly missed


    But not dismissed


    Because this misses was my most lucky risk.


     


    No one appreciates the effort


    Only sees the time spent


    Never sees the sadness


    But wonders where the love went


     


    NO ONE APPRECIATES THE EFFORT


    ONLY SEES THE TIME SPENT


    NEVER SEES THE SADNESS


    BUT WONDERS WHERE THE LOVE WENT


     


    Where did love go?


     


    If we ever break through the stars it’ll be beautiful


    It we ever break through this universe it’ll be beautiful


     


    I don’t question beauty, it only moves me.


    But if we do break through our own hearts


    appreciating is my duty.



     


                                       - James Durante.