March 7, 2006

  • : Mid-term

     
       
      


    acrylic on illustration board . 20 x 30 in.
    ~12 hours . hinge matted
    Assignment: Color, Meaning, & Culture



    : This picture really doesn't help, but pretty self-explanatory.
    I chose Japan for personal reasons.. hehhh

    eh. it turned out alright, I guess..
    a big 'not bad' to many, I'm sure. haha
    I tried to apply the multiple angle compositions and repetition in shapes & color.
    I wanted to do a more traditional style around the 1700's AD,
    but then it would have less color & more ink;
    making the whole piece look completely unfinished
    so, I just kind of stylized it?

    : A rushed project. wanted to spend more time on it for minor details.
    still needs more work but due to two other midterms,
    I only had wednesday & thursday to turn it in the next day.
    got another project due wednesday, which I probably won't start on
    'til the night before because of work on monday night. -_-;;

    I told you. I've been busy. '=|



    [edit]
    : Had the critique last friday on this, too.
    but feel free to give some constructive criticism. I'd really appreciate it.

    ps. it's where I wanted to go with you..
     
       
      

Comments (20)

  • sickkkkkkkkkkkkk as helll

  • That's toally awesome!

  • Easy Breezy Japaneezy!
    Good work.
    ~Y

  • loving the waves.
    =]

  • rofl that makes me smile..so awesome!~

  • It's good! After you get all your stuff out of the way and everything do you think you'll keep working on this even after the assignment is over, 'cause there are definitely things you can tweak...but I HATE CRITIQUES. >>; I should just IM you and tell you all this 'cause I'm getting all rambly...

  • i love it.
    me, as a japanese (hah)
    i really do love it.
    :)
    i should buy it form you. :O
    hehe.
    good job. :D

  • mmm isnt it that day where you spent majority of the day talking to me lol. but I like it what did you get on it?

  • Love the contrast between the rising sun and the crashing waves. :D

  • Its a nice peace of work Kin, the waves are definately what attracts the human eye, which then focuses on either two other things> the sun or both people to the left. However, the cliff on the background still seems a little flat and the brown piece next to that. Otherwise its a good pieces; shows how much you've improved in art.

  • muchh better than i can paint/draw : ) im liking the waves... and nice bold red and white contrast in the bg : ) good work.

  • thats kool. i thought you were going to live there like me.

  • dope
    can i have it after ur done with it?
    really if u just gave it to me
    i would be like wow man thanks
    and i would hang it on my wall
    and tell everyon what talented friend i have
    and be like wow every day
    so can i have it? please?

  • nice bro good job on the acrylics!

  • Composition's perfect. The movement, oh! I'd love to see this in person. Truly amazing.

  • teh waves are absolutely amazing....

    it attracted me the most =)

  • not a lot of people know sage francis.

    im proud of u.

    :)

  • yeah, all of my work's film.
    i know the sky's a pain.. but it's hard catching people.  at a point, i think she's too interesting to throw it out hah

  • that looks awesome. the best i could do is stick figures.. perhaps with a boobie or two.

  • hah, well for the trip to paris.. i bought about.. 50 rolls of tmax and maybe 25 of ilford 120, and i only ended up using about half of it there.. so i'm still working off that.  but i spent about $500 on film and paper for the trip.. money i'd been working for and saving up since the summer.

    kills me sometimes how expensive photography is.. but i develop and print my own, so that's free at least

    the water looks great in that piece.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment